Accessibility View
Open today from 10AM - 5PM

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: Closed

Wednesday: 10AM - 5PM

Thursday: 10AM - 5PM

Friday: 10AM - 9PM

Saturday: 10AM - 5PM

Sunday: 10AM - 5PM

Ann Lislegaard: Every Thought is Alive, Awakening of a Cyborg II

In association with its pre-launch programming, Remai Modern invited artists to realize original projects exclusively for online viewing. Through these commissions, the museum considered its website as an extension of its physical space and onsite program. Mobile and experimental, this online gallery allowed for direct, personal encounters with art while connecting artists and audiences across the globe.

From 2016-2020, the museum presented projects by: Ryan Gander, Tammi Campbell, Tanya Lukin Linklater, Thomas Hirschhorn, Taysir Batniji, Pedro Barateiro, Kara Uzleman, Rosa Barba, Amanda Beech, Ellen Moffat, Duane Linklater, Lynne Marsh, Raqs Media Collective, Ahlam Shibli, Ann Lislegaard, Anton Vidokly, Dave McKenzie, Laakkuluk Williamson-Bathory and Kelly Nipper.

Ann Lislegaard
Every Thought is Alive, Awakening of a Cyborg II
October 23, 2017–February 25, 2018

“The moment I came to consciousness, in the lab, everything began rushing in. I felt a sharp pain, terrible…Everything assaulted me. Sound, sight, touch, all my sensors giving me huge amounts of data and all of it seeming equally important, equally loud. I was battered almost to senselessness.”

Ann Lislegaard’s videos, digital animations, and installations explore conventions and themes in science fiction novels and films. Every Thought is Alive, Awakening of a Cyborg II, draws from Marge Piercy’s cyberpunk novel, Body of Glass (He She and It).

Ann Lislegaard (b. Tønsberg, Norway, 1962) lives and works in Copenhagen and New York. She has recently had solo exhibitions at Overgaden–Institute of Contemporary Art in Denmark; Kyoto Art Center in Japan; and Tel Aviv Museum in Israel; and has participated in major international group exhibitions and biennials including the Venice Biennale (2005), the Bienal de São Paulo (2006), Busan Biennale (2010), Biennale of Sydney (2014), La Biennale de Montréal (2014), and Gwangju Biennale (2016).